whiskydistillery
Whisky explained, from grain to glass
Home / Law, Industry & Health / Whisky Law
Whisky Law

Age Statement Rules Country by Country

Whisky samples, an oak cask and an hourglass
Whisky samples, an oak cask and an hourglass

Combine Scotch whiskies aged 8, 12 and 15 years, and the permitted age claim is “8 years old”. The oldest whisky does not set the age, and neither does an average: the youngest whisky does.[3] Irish whiskey claims likewise follow the youngest whiskey; EU rules refer specifically to the youngest alcoholic component.[1][5] Countries also differ over when a statement is compulsory, which units it uses and what storage time counts.[6][8]

At a glance


Age statement rules at a glance

The first distinction is between making whisky and labelling its age. A minimum maturation period tells you when a spirit can qualify as whisky. It does not automatically require an age on the label: the US rule for whiskies under four years old is a separate labelling requirement.[1][6]

Jurisdiction Rule to notice Source Checked
EU Youngest alcoholic component Regulation (EU) 2019/787, Article 13(6).[1] November 2026
United Kingdom: Scotch whisky Age stated in years Scotch Whisky Regulations 2009, regulation 12.[2] November 2026
Ireland Youngest whiskey, in years, one number Irish Whiskey technical file, section 10.[5] November 2026
United States Required below four years, unless bottled in bond 27 CFR 5.74.[6] November 2026
Canada After three years in small wood, up to six months elsewhere can count CFIA guidance, B.02.020.[8] November 2026
Japan Law and industry standard differ Liquor Tax Act; JSLMA standard.[9][10] November 2026
India Age statement rules not reliably established from sources checked Not verified November 2026

European Union: the youngest component sets the age

An EU age statement belongs to the youngest alcoholic component, not to a calculation across the contents. That is the rule in Article 13(6) of Regulation (EU) 2019/787, which has applied since 25 May 2021. The regulation's whisky definition separately requires at least three years in wooden casks holding no more than 700 litres.[1]

The paperwork must support the label. Article 13(6) requires ageing under a Member State's revenue supervision, or supervision offering equivalent guarantees. Article 13(7) also requires any stated age to appear in the electronic administrative document.[1]

For the wider category definition, see EU spirit drinks rules. The essential distinction here is between the maturation needed to make whisky and the youngest component rule governing an age or maturation claim.[1]

Scotch whisky: years, one number and vintage rules

Scotch age claims use years, not months or maturation cycles. The Scotch Whisky Regulations 2009 require at least three years' maturation in Scotland, in oak casks holding no more than 700 litres, in an excise warehouse or permitted place. Regulation 12 requires a stated age or maturation period to be expressed in years.[2][4]

The Scotch Whisky Association, an industry body, explains the label rule plainly: the only age claim is the youngest whisky's age, expressed as one number. Its example combines whiskies aged 8, 12 and 15 years and permits “8 years old”, not an average or the oldest component's age.[3]

The guidance accepts “Aged 10 Years”, “12 Years Old” and “Over 10 Years Old”. It rejects months, maturation cycles, age ranges, average ages and percentage breakdowns by age. “Aged 36 months” is therefore no substitute for a three-year-old Scotch age claim.[3]

A distillation date follows different rules. Regulation 12 requires one calendar year covering all the whisky, with the bottling year, maturation period or age in the same field of vision. It also bans numbers that could confuse people about age, maturation or distillation date.[2]

The SWA further advises using a bottling year only when the whole intervening period was qualifying maturation in Scotland. For the surrounding production and labelling rules, read the Scotch regulations explained.[3]

Irish whiskey: youngest age, maturation on the island

Irish whiskey's age statement gives the youngest whiskey's age, in years, as one number. Section 10 of the Irish Whiskey technical file also requires proper control and verification of ageing. Maturation must last at least three years on the island of Ireland, in wooden casks such as oak holding no more than 700 litres.[5]

Place matters as much as time. The technical file prohibits export in wooden casks that could allow further maturation outside Ireland or Northern Ireland. Where a distillation year appears, the bottling year, maturation period or age must appear in the same field of vision.[5]

United States: when an age statement is compulsory

Whiskies under four years old must carry an age statement in the United States unless labelled “bottled in bond”. Under 27 CFR 5.74, that requirement covers domestic and foreign whiskies, including blends. A required statement gives the youngest whisky's age, in years, months or days. The age may be understated, but never overstated.[6]

Understatement cannot contradict a standard of identity. The regulation specifically rejects “Aged 1 year” on straight rye, even if the whiskey is older, because the claim conflicts with that category's two-year minimum.[6]

For whisky blended with neutral spirits, the percentage and age of each whisky under four years old must appear next to the neutral spirits statement. Imported rye, wheat, malt and rye malt whisky must give age and percentage as though made in the United States.[6]

US age counts time spent in oak barrels after distillation and before bottling. Certain US whisky stored in reused oak may instead carry “stored ____ years in reused cooperage”. A distillation date requires an age statement in the same field of vision.[6]

The bottled-in-bond exception has its own requirements under 27 CFR 5.88: one distilling season, one distiller at one distillery, at least four years in wooden containers and bottling at 50% ABV (100 US proof). Imported spirits may use the statement only if the producing country's law authorises it, with that country's name following the statement.[7]

“Old” in a brand name is not itself an age representation. For the category definitions behind these distinctions, see US whiskey standards.[6]

Canada: small wood and the six-month allowance

Canada allows a limited amount of time outside wood to count towards age, but only after the whisky has spent at least three years in small wood. Canadian Food Inspection Agency guidance describes “small wood” as casks or barrels no larger than 700 litres.[8]

The guidance cites B.02.023 for the requirement that whisky other than Bourbon or Tennessee whisky spend at least three years in small wood. Spirits added as flavouring need only two years.[8]

Under B.02.020(3), up to six months in other containers can count after those first three years in small wood. The CFIA's example makes the limit clear: Canadian whisky with three and a half years in small wood and eight months in glass may claim four years, not its full storage period.[8]

The CFIA also accepts foreign certificates of age issued by a foreign government. Those certificates document age; they are separate from the calculation of Canada's storage allowance.[8]

Japan: law and the industry standard are different

Japan's Liquor Tax Act, Act No. 6 of 1953, Article 3, item 15, defines whisky without setting a minimum maturation period in that item. The three-year requirement for “Japanese whisky” comes instead from the Japan Spirits & Liqueurs Makers Association's labelling standard, whose English text describes it as not legally binding. The statutory category and the association's standard are not interchangeable.[9][10]

Article 5 of that standard requires at least three years' maturation in Japan in wooden casks holding no more than 700 litres. Established on 12 February 2021, the standard took effect on 1 April 2021. Labels already in use could continue until 31 March 2024.[9]

Common age statement mistakes

Using an average instead of the stated age. In the EU, the youngest alcoholic component controls the claim. The SWA likewise rejects averages, age ranges and claims that Scotch contains whiskies “up to” an older age. An older component does not change the permitted age claim.[1][3]

Adding years since bottling to a Scotch age statement. The SWA says whisky does not mature in the bottle, while US law counts age only up to bottling. Canada's limited allowance for other containers is a specific legal counting provision, not a general rule that all storage counts.[6][8][11]

Reading a distillation year as an age statement. Scotch and Irish rules allow accompanying bottling or maturation information in the same field of vision; US rules require an accompanying age statement there. Read the complete presentation before subtracting dates: the applicable rule determines what those dates tell you.[2][5][6]

Where to go next

Sources

  1. EUR-Lex. Regulation (EU) 2019/787 of 17 April 2019 on spirit drinks. 2019, Articles 13 and 51 and Annex I, category 2.
    https://eur-lex.europa.eu/eli/reg/2019/787/oj/eng

  2. legislation.gov.uk. The Scotch Whisky Regulations 2009, regulation 12. SI 2009/2890, dated view of 31 October 2019.
    https://www.legislation.gov.uk/cy/uksi/2009/2890/regulation/12/2019-10-31?view=plain

  3. Scotch Whisky Association. The Scotch Whisky Regulations 2009: Guidance for Producers and Bottlers. Industry guidance, edition supplied in the fact sheet, publication year not specified. Hosted on Regulations.gov.
    https://downloads.regulations.gov/TTB-2022-0007-0026/attachment_1.pdf

  4. legislation.gov.uk. The Scotch Whisky Regulations 2009. SI 2009/2890, as made, 2009, regulation 3.
    https://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2009/2890/made?view=plain

  5. Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Ireland. Technical File for Irish Whiskey/Uisce Beatha Eireannach/Irish Whisky. Supplied edition, publication year not specified in the fact sheet; section 10 and maturation provisions.
    http://www.marketaccess.agriculture.gov.ie/media/marketaccess/content/IrishWhiskeyUisceBeathaEireannachIrishWhisky030519.pdf

  6. eCFR. 27 CFR 5.74: Statements of age, storage, and percentage. Title 27 current to 30 October 2026 in the supplied record; amendments dated 2022, 2023 and 2024.
    http://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-27/chapter-I/subchapter-A/part-5/subpart-E/section-5.74

  7. eCFR. 27 CFR 5.88: Bottled in bond. Edition recorded as checked in November 2026.
    https://ecfr.gov/current/title-27/chapter-I/subchapter-A/part-5/subpart-F/section-5.88

  8. Canadian Food Inspection Agency. Labelling requirements for alcoholic beverages. Edition recorded as checked in November 2026; age claims guidance citing B.02.020 and B.02.023.
    https://inspection.canada.ca/en/food-labels/labelling/industry/alcoholic-beverages

  9. Japan Spirits & Liqueurs Makers Association. Standards for Labeling Japanese Whisky. Established 12 February 2021, effective 1 April 2021; document hosted by Nikka.
    http://nikka.com/eng/img/topics/pdf/Standards_for_Labeling_Japanese_whisky.pdf

  10. e-Gov, Government of Japan. Liquor Tax Act, Act No. 6 of 1953. Article 3, item 15, edition recorded as checked in November 2026.
    https://laws.e-gov.go.jp/law/328AC0000000006

  11. Scotch Whisky Association. Scotch Whisky FAQs. Undated industry information, recorded as checked in November 2026.
    https://www.scotch-whisky.org.uk/discover-scotch/faqs/

This article is desk research based on the supplied verified fact sheet, drawing on legislation, government guidance and explicitly identified industry standards.

Last checked: November 2026