Dingle

Type: Distillery and brand
A former sawmill, copper stills arriving in summer 2012, and the first whiskey casks filled that December: Dingle’s beginnings were tangible, but bottled whiskey would take nearly four years, arriving in November 2016.[3][4][5][7] The Irish distillery occupies the converted sawmill at Milltown, on the western edge of Dingle in County Kerry. Its recorded arrangement, checked in November 2026, includes three copper pot stills for triple distillation. Its first core whiskey expression was Dingle Single Malt.[2][4][9]
| Fact | Details |
|---|---|
| Location | Milltown, Dingle, County Kerry, Ireland.[2][8] |
| Founded | 2012, by Oliver Hughes, Liam LaHart and Peter Mosley, according to the producer.[1][7] |
| Recorded operating company | Drioglann Uisce Beatha Dhaingeann Ui Chuis Teo, reported by Business Plus; current legal ownership is not reliably established.[4] |
| Current legal owner | Not reliably established. |
| Business status | Current status unconfirmed from the supplied dated record, checked November 2026. |
| Distilling status | Current production unconfirmed from the supplied dated record, checked November 2026. |
| Visitor access | Current access conditions unconfirmed, checked November 2026. |
| Site status | Current physical status not reliably established, checked November 2026. |
| Recorded still arrangement | Three copper pot stills for whiskey; a smaller fourth pot still for gin and vodka. Record checked November 2026.[4][8] |
| Water | The distillery’s own deep well, according to the producer.[9] |
| First whiskey releases | November 2016.[4][5] |
What Dingle is known for
Dingle said it neither bought spirit from other distilleries nor sold spirit to them. That sourcing statement, made by the producer alongside the 2021 Single Malt launch, gives a specific account of the connection between the whiskey and its place of production.[9]
The releases trace a clear progression: first whiskeys in 2016, a pot still whiskey in 2017 and a continuing Single Malt expression in 2021. Alongside these, six releases in the Single Malt Batch series explored different combinations of bourbon, sherry, Port and Madeira casks.[5][6][9]
Cask selection gives those releases their individual identities. Batch 6 used only Tawny Port casks; the first core Single Malt brought together 61% first-fill PX sherry casks and 39% bourbon casks. The distillery and triple distillation provide a common thread, but the documented maturation recipes are quite distinct.[5][9]
A sawmill becomes a distillery
Dingle began in the former Fitzgerald sawmill, rather than an existing whiskey distillery. The producer credits three founders: Oliver Hughes, Liam LaHart and Peter Mosley, whose background was in the Porterhouse Brewing Company.[1][2][7][8]
The copper stills arrived in summer 2012. Georgina Campbell Guides records production beginning that autumn under Mosley, Porterhouse’s head brewer, and master distiller John McDougall. The record also credits McDougall with designing the copper pot stills.[3][8]
The Irish Times dates gin production to November 2012 and the first whiskey cask filling to December. Business Plus dates the first spirit from the stills to December 2012. These accounts provide specific milestones alongside the broader autumn production account, without establishing when whiskey distillation began.[3][4][7]
Story box: From brewing to whiskey in a Kerry sawmill
| Field | Record |
|---|---|
| Founding story | The producer credits Oliver Hughes, Liam LaHart and Peter Mosley with founding Dingle in 2012. They came from the Porterhouse Brewing Company; the distillery occupies a former sawmill at Milltown, County Kerry. Sources: https://dingledistillery.ie/our-story/; https://www.irishtimes.com/special-reports/all-about-gin/the-gin-crowd-15-of-ireland-s-gin-makers-neatly-distilled-1.4569470; https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/munster/arid-40756809.html |
| Turning point | The first whiskey releases arrived in November 2016, taking Dingle from spirit in cask to bottled whiskey. Source: https://businessplus.ie/sme/whiskies-with-a-punch-from-dingle-distillery/ |
| Claim and verdict | Documented: the first 500 casks were offered to private participants called “Founding Fathers”. Georgina Campbell Guides records the arrangement: https://ireland-guide.com/establishment/dingle-whiskey-distillery-the.10799.html |
| Claim to source mapping | Founders: https://dingledistillery.ie/our-story/; founding and brewing background: https://www.irishtimes.com/special-reports/all-about-gin/the-gin-crowd-15-of-ireland-s-gin-makers-neatly-distilled-1.4569470; first bottled whiskey: https://businessplus.ie/sme/whiskies-with-a-punch-from-dingle-distillery/; first 500 casks: https://ireland-guide.com/establishment/dingle-whiskey-distillery-the.10799.html |
| Source dating | The supplied record identifies Georgina Campbell Guides but does not establish its publication date. |
| Last checked | November 2026; exact day not reliably established. |
Oliver Hughes died in August 2016, aged 57, before he could taste the first Dingle whiskey. His son Elliot attended the tasting. The later record names Elliot Hughes as managing director, adding a family connection to the distillery’s development.[4][9]
Production and the people behind it
Three copper pot stills form the recorded whiskey setup, with a smaller fourth pot still for gin and vodka. Accounts checked in November 2026 also describe a wooden washback and fermentation tanks, and report output of about two casks a day. That figure describes reported production, rather than annual installed capacity.[4][8]
The water comes from Dingle’s own well, according to the producer. Its depth is disputed: The Irish Times reports about 73 metres (240 feet), while the producer’s 2021 launch account gives 240 metres. The depth is not reliably established.[7][9]
Behind the equipment are two distinct chapters in the distillery’s personnel record. Mosley and McDougall feature in the production start-up, with McDougall also credited for the still design. The 2021 core-expression announcement names Graham Coull as master distiller and Elliot Hughes as managing director. In the 2017 trade coverage, LaHart was described as co-founder and managing director.[3][6][8][9]
The recorded range also includes Dingle Original Gin and Dingle Distillery Vodka. Business Plus describes the vodka as distilled five times, compared with the triple distillation recorded for the whiskey.[4]
From the first bottles to the core Single Malt
Dingle’s November 2016 debut came in two forms: Dingle Whiskey at 46.5% ABV, with 7,500 bottles, and Dingle Whiskey Cask Strength at 60.7% ABV, with 500 bottles. These figures describe the original releases, rather than present availability.[4][5]
The six-release Single Malt Batch series made cask selection a central part of the story. Batch 2 combined PX and Oloroso sherry casks with bourbon casks. Batch 3 shifted to bourbon and Port. Batch 4 brought all four together: bourbon, PX, Oloroso and Port.[5]
Madeira entered the recipe for Batch 5, alongside ex-bourbon and PX casks. Its 36,500 bottles made it the series’ largest release up to that point. Then came a more concentrated cask choice: Batch 6 closed the sequence with whiskey matured only in Tawny Port casks.[5]
The first core Dingle Single Malt launched on 14 May 2021 at 46.3% ABV. Its announced recipe brought together 61% first-fill PX sherry casks and 39% bourbon casks, using mostly six to seven year old spirit. The plan was for 50,000 bottles in its first year.[9]
Those ages belong to the launch account, not an age statement covering every subsequent bottle. The producer also described the whiskey as triple distilled, not chill filtered and without added colouring.[9]
Production and release timeline
| Date | Verified milestone |
|---|---|
| Summer 2012 | Copper stills arrived at Dingle.[3] |
| November 2012 | Gin production began, according to The Irish Times.[7] |
| December 2012 | First whiskey casks filled; Business Plus also dates first spirit to this month.[4][7] |
| November 2016 | First Dingle whiskey releases.[4][5] |
| October 2017 | First pot still whiskey.[5][6] |
| 14 May 2021 | First core Dingle Single Malt launched.[9] |
Three common misunderstandings
Dingle’s own account describes whiskey made from its own spirit, not bought-in whiskey. In its 2021 statement, the producer said all its spirit was its own, with neither purchases from nor sales to other distilleries.[9]
Dingle was not the first distillery of the Irish whiskey revival. Cooley opened in 1987 in a converted potato spirit plant; the guide calling Dingle the fourth working distillery named Midleton, Bushmills and Cooley as its predecessors. The narrower claim that Dingle was Ireland’s first purpose built distillery for new whiskey in more than 200 years is recorded as disputed. The disagreement concerns how the earlier sites are described, rather than whether they preceded Dingle. Dingle itself occupied a former sawmill, while Cooley occupied a converted potato spirit plant.[3][6][10]
Opening the distillery and releasing whiskey were separate milestones. Production began in 2012; the first whiskey bottles followed in November 2016. Both dates belong in Dingle’s early history.[4][7]
Visiting the distillery
The producer describes tours covering the journey from mashing to maturation. Before travelling, consult its official website for booking, accessibility information, age rules and current visitor arrangements rather than relying on historical descriptions.[1]
The 2022 expansion coverage describes an approved proposal, subsequent appeals and a planned visitor centre overlooking Dingle Harbour. It records a planning stage; completion of the proposed facilities is not confirmed.[2]
Where to go next
- Cooley Distillery: Connemara and Tyrconnell: explore the earlier distillery in Dingle’s revival story.
- Teeling: continue through Ireland’s distilleries and brands.
- West Cork: discover another entry in the Irish distillery guide.
Sources
- Dingle Distillery. Our Story. Undated, producer’s account. https://dingledistillery.ie/our-story/
- Irish Examiner. It's a distillery, not Rapunzel's castle: Locals object to Dingle distillery expansion. Publication year not specified in the supplied sheet. https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/munster/arid-40756809.html
- Georgina Campbell Guides. The Dingle Whiskey Distillery. Undated guide entry. https://ireland-guide.com/establishment/dingle-whiskey-distillery-the.10799.html
- Business Plus. Whiskies With A Punch From Dingle Distillery. Undated in the supplied record. https://businessplus.ie/sme/whiskies-with-a-punch-from-dingle-distillery/
- The Whiskey Wash. Dingle Releases Last Irish Whiskey In Its Single Malt Batch Series. Undated in the supplied record. https://thewhiskeywash.com/irish-whiskey/dingle-releases-last-irish-whiskey-in-its-single-malt-batch-series/
- The Spirits Business. Dingle Distillery to double spirits production. November 2017. https://www.thespiritsbusiness.com/2017/11/dingle-distillery-to-double-spirits-production/
- The Irish Times. The gin crowd: 15 of Ireland's gin makers, neatly distilled. 2021. https://www.irishtimes.com/special-reports/all-about-gin/the-gin-crowd-15-of-ireland-s-gin-makers-neatly-distilled-1.4569470
- Wikipedia. Dingle Distillery. Revision not specified in the supplied sheet, checked November 2026. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dingle_Distillery
- Drinks Ireland, Ibec. Dingle Distillery eyes growth with launch of first core whiskey expression. 14 May 2021, member news reproducing the producer’s account. https://www.ibec.ie/drinksireland/news-insights-and-events/members-news/2021/05/14/dingle-single-malt-launch
- Whisky.com. Cooley. Undated distillery entry. https://www.whisky.com/whisky-database/distilleries/details/cooley.html
This article is desk research based on verified fact sheet TOP-A269, distinguishing producer statements from independent reporting and retaining the sheet’s story verdicts.
Last checked: November 2026