whiskydistillery
Whisky explained, from grain to glass
Home / Distilleries & Regions / Speyside Distilleries
Speyside Distilleries

Kininvie

Three copper pot stills inside a distillery.
Three copper pot stills inside a distillery.

Type: Distillery

Kininvie is a single malt Scotch whisky distillery in Dufftown, Speyside, built in 1990 to supply malt whisky for William Grant & Sons blends. It shares a site with Balvenie and Glenfiddich, but has its own stillhouse and production identity: shared premises do not mean the same spirit.[1][3]

Fact box

Field Recorded information
Country and locality Dufftown, Moray, Scotland.[1]
Protected region Speyside, under the Scotch Whisky Regulations 2009.[7]
Owner William Grant & Sons, recorded in the supplied trade research from 1990 onwards; exact legal ownership entity not reliably established.[3]
Founded Opened in 1990.[3]
Business status Cannot confirm from the supplied records.
Distilling status Cannot confirm current production from the supplied records.
Visitor access Reported as not open to the public, with no visitor centre; record checked November 2026.[3]
Site status Cannot confirm independently from the supplied records.
Stills Trade research describes three groups, each comprising one wash still and two spirit stills; not a verified November 2026 equipment inventory.[3]
Mash preparation Its own mash tun and washbacks on the Balvenie premises.[1]
Main role Malt whisky for William Grant & Sons blends.[1]
Address Kininvie Distillery, Dufftown, Moray AB55 4DH.[3]

What Kininvie is known for

Kininvie is best understood as a distillery whose blending work came before its identity on a single malt label. The reason for building it was practical: Glenfiddich’s output needed to be reserved for single malt, while William Grant & Sons still required malt whisky for its blends. Kininvie supplied another source of spirit within the company’s Dufftown operation.[3]

That starting point explains why its history looks different from that of a distillery established around a named single malt range. Kininvie existed as a producer long before the Kininvie brand appeared in 2013. Earlier single malt releases used the Hazelwood name, so a bottle’s name and the distillery’s name have not always matched.[3]

Its neighbours are useful reference points, but neither is a substitute for understanding Kininvie itself. Read Glenfiddich’s history for the single malt business that helped create the demand for another distillery, and Balvenie’s history for the neighbouring operation with which Kininvie shares production premises.

Why Kininvie was built

William Grant & Sons opened Kininvie in 1990 as its third distillery on the Dufftown site. The supplied trade history describes pressure on stocks rather than the launch of a new consumer brand as the immediate reason for the project. Keeping Glenfiddich available for single malt left a separate requirement for malt to support blending.[3]

Kininvie was built on Balvenie’s grounds and initially consisted only of a stillhouse, with mash preparation carried out at the neighbouring site. That arrangement helps explain a persistent misunderstanding: being physically integrated with another distillery does not make Kininvie merely a warehouse or an alternative name for Balvenie.[1][4]

The useful distinction is between shared infrastructure and the choices that shape the spirit. The supplied research records Kininvie’s own barley specification, mash tun and washbacks, alongside differences in fermentation and still design. Those are the production details to look at when asking what makes it a separate distillery.[1][3]

Story box: A distillery built for blending

Founding story: William Grant & Sons opened Kininvie in 1990 on its Dufftown site, where Balvenie and Glenfiddich were already established. The supplied trade account connects its construction with the need for blending malt while Glenfiddich’s output was retained for single malt.
Source and claim mapping: opening, location and purpose, WhiskeyAtlas, Kininvie Distillery.[3]

Turning point: In 2013, the Kininvie brand launched with a 23-year-old single malt for Taiwan, giving the distillery’s own name a place on a single malt release.
Source and claim mapping: launch year, age and destination, WhiskeyAtlas, Kininvie Distillery.[3]

Documented record: The supplied chronology distinguishes the distillery’s opening in 1990 from the later launch of the Kininvie brand.
Source and claim mapping: both dated events, WhiskeyAtlas, Kininvie Distillery.[3]

Last checked: 7 November 2026.

How Kininvie makes its spirit

The relationship with Balvenie begins before distillation, but the raw material is not simply Balvenie’s own malt diverted next door. The supplied trade account states that Kininvie uses none of Balvenie’s floor-malted barley. It also records a slightly longer fermentation than Balvenie’s, although it provides no duration that can be quoted here.[3]

Fermentation turns the prepared grain sugars into an alcoholic liquid called wash. Kininvie’s wash is reported to travel about 200 metres by pipe from the Balvenie premises to its stillhouse, connecting the two parts of the operation without making their spirits interchangeable.[1]

Production stage What the supplied research records
Barley A separate barley specification; no use of Balvenie’s own floor-malted barley.[1][3]
Mash preparation Kininvie’s own mash tun and washbacks on the Balvenie premises.[1]
Fermentation Slightly longer than Balvenie’s, according to the trade account.[3]
Transfer Wash piped about 200 metres to the Kininvie stillhouse.[1]
Distillation Three groups of one wash still feeding two spirit stills, with computer-controlled distillation reported.[1][3]

The first distillation takes place in a wash still, followed by further distillation in spirit stills. Kininvie’s reported arrangement gives each wash still two spirit stills, rather than presenting the equipment simply as matching pairs. The trade description compares the spirit stills’ shape with Glenfiddich’s, while identifying Kininvie’s wash stills as larger.[3]

That comparison is more useful than assuming a shared site produces a shared house character. The trade account describes Kininvie’s spirit as more floral than Glenfiddich’s, with a soft, tongue-coating texture. This is an attributed description of distillery character, not a tasting conducted for this article or a promise about every bottling.[3]

Reported maturation casks include first-fill bourbon casks, refill casks and some sherry casks. That gives a documented outline of the wood used, but the supplied research does not establish a single cask recipe applying to all Kininvie releases.[3]

Kininvie in blends

Most Kininvie spirit goes into William Grant & Sons blends, with Clan MacGregor among the names recorded in the supplied research. Its importance therefore cannot be measured only by the number of bottles carrying Kininvie prominently on the label.[1]

Monkey Shoulder is another significant connection. Trade accounts identify Kininvie, Balvenie and Glenfiddich as its constituent malts, and one describes Kininvie as its backbone.[3][4] Verdict: Disputed. Accounts differ on when Kininvie joined the blend, giving either its launch in 2003 or 2005.

The Hazelwood name connects several different chapters. Hazelwood Centennial Reserve, released in 2001, was a blend containing Kininvie; the later Hazelwood 15-year-old and 17-year-old releases were single malts. Keeping those products separate prevents an earlier appearance in a blend from being mistaken for the launch of a Kininvie single malt.[3]

From Hazelwood to Kininvie Works

The supplied chronology records a 15 year old single malt under the Hazelwood name in 2006, followed by Hazelwood Reserve 17 year old in duty free in 2008. The Hazelwood name came from the home of Janet Sheed Roberts.[1][3] Verdict: Disputed. Accounts identify either the 2006 Hazelwood release or the 2013 Kininvie release as the first single malt; the names used on those releases differ.

The Kininvie 23 year old followed in 2013, initially for Taiwan, using whisky distilled in the distillery’s opening year of 1990. Verdict: Documented. The first 23 year old was dedicated to Janet Sheed Roberts, granddaughter of William Grant. A worldwide 17 year old release and a second batch of the 23 year old are recorded for 2014.[1][3]

In 2019, Kininvie Works introduced a different kind of release programme: three experimental whiskies rather than another straightforward age-statement extension. They comprised a triple-distilled single malt, a single grain made from rye and barley through copper pot stills, and a single distillery blend combining that grain whisky with double-distilled malt.[3]

These releases show the Kininvie name being used to explore production choices as well as to identify mature single malt. Verdict: Documented. Trade reporting suggests that official age statement and experimental releases now appear to have stopped; the supplied chronology does not establish a currently available range.

A disputed silent period

Verdict: Disputed. Trade accounts differ on a reported interruption: one says Kininvie fell silent for a year in 2011, while another says it was closed from 2010 to 2012. The supplied record does not resolve the dates.

Production and release timeline

Year Recorded milestone
1990 Kininvie opened on the Dufftown site.[3] The first spirit date is disputed: trade accounts give either 4 July or 25 June.
1994 One trade source dates an expansion to nine stills to this year.[5]
2001 Hazelwood Centennial Reserve included Kininvie in a blend.[3]
2006 Hazelwood 15-year-old single malt released.[3]
2008 Hazelwood Reserve 17-year-old released in duty free.[3]
2013 Kininvie-branded 23-year-old launched for Taiwan.[3]
2014 Worldwide 17-year-old launch and second batch of the 23-year-old.[3]
2019 Kininvie Works released three experimental whiskies.[3]

Where to go next

  • The Balvenie: understand Kininvie’s closest production neighbour.
  • Glenfiddich: follow the single malt business behind the need for additional blending spirit.
  • Mortlach: explore another Dufftown distillery through its own production history.

Sources

[1] Scotch Whisky. Kininvie. Undated trade reference, edition not specified in the supplied sheet.
https://scotchwhisky.com/whiskypedia/1871/kininvie/

[3] WhiskeyAtlas. Kininvie Distillery. Undated trade reference, edition not specified in the supplied sheet.
https://www.whiskeyatlas.co.uk/distillery/kininvie

[4] Whisky Clan. Kininvie Distillery: History, Owner and Facts. Undated trade article, edition not specified in the supplied sheet.
https://www.whisky-clan.com/post/kininvie-distillery-history-owner-and-visitor-guide

[5] Whiskipedia. Kininvie. Undated trade reference, edition not specified in the supplied sheet.
https://whiskipedia.com/distilleries/kininvie/

This desk-research draft uses the supplied fact sheet TOP-A166; its source-to-claim mapping requires editorial repair before publication.

Last checked: November 2026.