whiskydistillery
Whisky explained, from grain to glass
Home / Distilleries & Regions / Scottish Grain Distilleries
Scottish Grain Distilleries

Strathclyde

Copper stills with tall columns and connecting pipes.
Copper stills with tall columns and connecting pipes.

Type: Distillery

On a former cotton mill site beside the Clyde, Strathclyde began by sending spirit south to London to make gin. First spirit ran in 1928; grain whisky followed in 1936. Today, trade accounts place this Gorbals distillery firmly behind the blends, with most output supplying blended Scotch rather than appearing as single grain bottlings.[1][3][4][6]

In short

Field Verified record
Location Gorbals, Glasgow, on the south bank of the River Clyde opposite Glasgow Green.[1][4]
Established Built in 1927 by Seager Evans; first spirit produced in 1928.[1][3][4]
Original purpose Principally neutral grain spirit for gin; grain whisky production followed in 1936.[1][3][6]
Ownership Reported as part of Chivas Brothers and the Pernod Ricard group, checked November 2026. Exact owning legal entity and effective date remain unverified.[1][2][3][4]
Business status Cannot confirm from the supplied record, November 2026.
Distilling status Cannot confirm from a dated operational statement, November 2026.
Visitor access Cannot confirm, November 2026.
Site status Cannot confirm independently, November 2026.
Distillation equipment Analyser and rectifier columns, described as a two-column system.[3][4]
Water source Loch Katrine.[3][4]
Former malt plant Kinclaith, built within Strathclyde’s walls and closed in 1975.[1][4]

What Strathclyde is known for

Strathclyde is a substantial industrial presence that can pass almost unnoticed. Its home is an old cotton mill site in Waddell Street, beside the Clyde and opposite Glasgow Green. ScotchWhisky.com captures the contrast, describing an operation that nevertheless “goes unnoticed by the strollers along the banks of the Clyde”. Scale has not made it a conspicuous part of Glasgow’s whisky story.[1][5]

Its main work is similarly out of the spotlight. Most output goes into blended Scotch, according to The Single Cask, rather than appearing as single grain whisky under the distillery’s own name. Independent releases offer another way to encounter Strathclyde, distinct from its role supplying spirit for blending.[3] For another grain distillery profile, see Cameronbridge.

The site also carries a malt distilling history through Kinclaith, the plant built within Strathclyde’s walls. Its eventual removal would make room for an expansion of grain and neutral spirit production.[1]

From cotton mill to gin spirit

Gin, rather than whisky, was principally the original purpose. Seager Evans built Strathclyde in 1927, and first spirit followed in 1928. The plant supplied neutral grain spirit to Millbank Distillery in London, where it was redistilled for Seagers Gin. Whisky became central to Strathclyde’s later identity, but it was not the starting point.[1][3][4][6]

Seager Evans also wanted independence of supply. The trade history describes Strathclyde as an alternative source of grain spirit to DCL, rather than simply more capacity for the market. The operation ran through its Scottish Grain Distilling Company subsidiary, giving Seager Evans a source outside that organisation’s supply.[5]

The move towards whisky came with Long John. In 1936, Seager Evans bought W.H. Chaplin & Co, bringing the Long John brand into the business. The history dates Strathclyde’s first grain whisky production to that same year. The acquisition and the production change were distinct events, but together they explain the new whisky role of a plant conceived around gin spirit.[1][5][6]

Story box: A whisky distillery with gin beginnings

The story: A distillery built principally for gin spirit developed a whisky role in the year Seager Evans acquired Long John. The practical link to gin was redistillation at Millbank, not merely a connection between brands.[1][3][4][5][6]

Sources and claim mapping:

Last checked: Exact date not reliably established; the fact sheet was checked in November 2026.

Verdict: Documented

Claim: Strathclyde was built principally to supply gin spirit, rather than originally being a whisky-only operation.

Evidence: Trade accounts identify both the gin purpose and the neutral spirit’s London destination.[1][6] No contrary account appears in the supplied sheet, but the underlying production records are not supplied.

Earliest known source: Not established from the sources checked.

Sources: ScotchWhisky.com, undated; Whisky Clan, undated.

Last checked: Exact date not reliably established; the fact sheet was checked in November 2026.

Production timeline

From gin spirit to grain whisky, then expansion: the key dates trace Strathclyde’s changing role.[1][3][4][6]

Date Event
1927 Seager Evans built Strathclyde on a former cotton mill site.[1]
1928 First spirit was produced.[3][4]
1936 Seager Evans acquired Long John; grain whisky production began at Strathclyde.[1][5][6]
1956 Schenley Industries of New York acquired Seager Evans.[3][4]
1957 The company was renamed Strathclyde and Long John Distilleries Ltd.[5]
1975 Kinclaith closed.[1][4]

Kinclaith inside Strathclyde

A malt distillery within the walls of a grain distillery: Kinclaith gave Strathclyde an unusual second identity. The Single Cask describes this sharing of one address as rare. For anyone tracing a bottle or a distillery history, the names identify distinct production operations: Kinclaith was the malt plant; Strathclyde was the grain distillery that housed it.[1][3]

Kinclaith closed in 1975 and was subsequently removed to make room for a two-phase expansion of grain and neutral spirit production. ScotchWhisky.com records that the neighbouring blending and warehousing site was demolished at the same time. This was a broader reshaping of the operation, not simply the loss of its malt plant.[1][4]

Kinclaith’s start year remains disputed: the supplied record gives 1957 and 1958, but neither year is reliably established. Its location, however, is clear: it was not a separate site elsewhere in Glasgow.[1]

Spirit, equipment and bottlings

An analyser and a rectifier form Strathclyde’s recorded two-column distillation system, with water sourced from Loch Katrine. The record separately describes the neutral spirit columns as mothballed. That statement concerns those columns, not the status of the entire distillery.[3][4]

Whisky Clan describes the spirit as wheat-led, creamy and fairly light. These are the trade writer’s descriptions, rather than this site’s tasting notes; the character of an individual mature bottling needs to be considered on its own terms.[6]

At 13 years old and 64.4% ABV, the independent release Strathclyde 2001 offers a documented glimpse of the distillery outside a blend. Its Whiskybase entry records an individual bottling from a distillery chiefly associated with supplying blended Scotch, rather than establishing a current core range or present availability.[7]

Ownership and the blending business

Seager Evans established Strathclyde; Schenley Industries of New York acquired Seager Evans in 1956. In 1957, the company was renamed Strathclyde and Long John Distilleries Ltd. The name brought the distillery and the blending business together explicitly, reflecting how closely their histories had become connected.[3][4][5]

The later sequence is less precisely dated. ScotchWhisky.com traces Long John Distilleries through subsequent ownership into Allied Distillers and identifies Strathclyde as part of Chivas Brothers. The supplied record also places it within Pernod Ricard. These accounts establish the reported group connection, but do not provide a verified, complete chain of effective transfer dates or reliably establish the exact owning legal entity.[1][2][3][4]

Common mistakes

Assuming Strathclyde always made whisky: Neutral grain spirit came first; grain whisky production is recorded from 1936.[1][6]

Placing Kinclaith elsewhere in Glasgow: A distinct malt plant, yes; a separate site, no.[1]

Treating single grain releases as the main business: Independent bottles carry the name, but blends take most output, according to the trade account.[3]

Where to go next

  • Cameronbridge: continue exploring Scotland’s grain distilleries.
  • North British: read another distillery profile in the same subject.
  • Girvan: broaden the comparison beyond Strathclyde.

Sources

  1. ScotchWhisky.com. Strathclyde. Undated trade reference, edition not specified. https://scotchwhisky.com/whiskypedia/2011/strathclyde/
  2. ScotchWhisky.com. Seager Evans. Undated trade reference, edition not specified. https://scotchwhisky.com/whiskypedia/5994/seager-evans/
  3. Wikipedia. Strathclyde distillery. Revision date not supplied. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Strathclyde_distillery
  4. The Single Cask. Strathclyde Distillery Guide. Undated trade article, edition not specified. https://www.thesinglecask.co.uk/blogs/distilleries/strathclyde
  5. Elixir Trails. Strathclyde Distillery. Undated trade reference, edition not specified. https://elixirtrails.com/distillery/strathclyde
  6. Whisky Clan. Strathclyde Distillery: History, Owner and Grain Whisky Guide. Publication date and revision not supplied. https://www.whisky-clan.com/post/strathclyde-distillery-history-owner-and-grain-whisky-guide
  7. Whiskybase. Strathclyde 2001. Database entry, revision date not supplied. https://www.whiskybase.com/whiskies/whisky/59215/strathclyde-2001

This desk-researched article uses the supplied verified fact sheet and its listed references; no visit, tasting or independent source reopening is claimed.

Last checked: November 2026