Tennessee Whiskey Country

Type: State
Before it reaches a barrel, the spirit at Jack Daniel’s and George Dickel passes through maple charcoal. That treatment, commonly called the Lincoln County Process, is central to Tennessee whiskey’s identity. It is also written into state law, alongside requirements for grain, distillation and barrels. Yet the definition has room for an exception: Benjamin Prichard’s holds a statutory exemption from charcoal filtration.[1][2]
| At a glance | Tennessee |
|---|---|
| Defining state law | Tennessee Code § 57-2-106, effective 1 July 2013.[1] |
| Principal grain requirement | At least 51% corn.[1] |
| Maturation requirement | New, charred oak barrels in Tennessee.[1] |
| Distinctive production requirement | Maple charcoal filtration before ageing, with a statutory exemption.[1] |
| Producer membership body | Tennessee Distillers Guild.[7] |
| Visitor route | Tennessee Whiskey Trail, launched on 19 June 2017.[5][6] |
What makes Tennessee whiskey Tennessee whiskey?
Tennessee whiskey is a protected name, not simply whiskey made in Tennessee. The state statute covers four names: “Tennessee Whiskey”, “Tennessee Whisky”, “Tennessee Sour Mash Whiskey” and “Tennessee Sour Mash Whisky”. Its seven production requirements took effect on 1 July 2013, bringing place and method together in one definition.[1]
| Requirement | What Tennessee law specifies |
|---|---|
| Manufacture | In Tennessee |
| Grain mixture | At least 51% corn |
| Distillation strength | No more than 80% ABV (160 US proof) |
| Barrels and ageing location | New, charred oak barrels in Tennessee |
| Charcoal treatment | Maple charcoal filtration before ageing, unless exempt |
| Barrel entry strength | No more than 62.5% ABV (125 US proof) |
| Bottling strength | At least 40% ABV (80 US proof) |
All seven requirements come from Tennessee Code § 57-2-106; the charcoal exemption is explained below. When reading a label, distinguish Tennessee as a place of manufacture from the protected product names. The Tennessee Historical Society expressly cautions that the term does not apply to all whiskey made in Tennessee.[1][2]
The law also allowed a transition. Tennessee permit holders licensed by 1 January 2013 could sell existing product for 36 months from 1 July 2013. Products made after that date had to meet the applicable statutory requirements to use the name, subject to the charcoal exemption. A violation can lead to licence suspension or revocation for at least one year.[1]
The Lincoln County Process and its exception
Maple charcoal filtration before ageing is the most conspicuous difference between Tennessee’s statutory definition and the federal bourbon production standard. The Tennessee Historical Society records that both Jack Daniel’s and George Dickel use this treatment, known as the Lincoln County Process.[2]
The sequence matters: unless exempt, the spirit must pass through maple charcoal before it ages. The law does not, however, prescribe the charcoal ratio, filtering time or origin of the wood, as the trade account The Lincoln County Process and the Law explains.[1][11]
That gives producers a shared production step, not an identical recipe. The statute does not provide a complete operating specification for each distillery, and the use of charcoal alone does not mean that different Tennessee whiskeys taste alike.
Benjamin Prichard’s takes a different path. Subsection (c) exempts a distillery in a county that approved manufacturing by referendum during 1979, where the distillery was first licensed by the state during 2000. The Tennessee Historical Society identifies Prichard’s as the producer covered by that provision.[1][2]
Prichard’s therefore remains Tennessee whiskey without using the Lincoln County Process. Its exemption belongs to the legal definition itself; it is not a general option for other producers to omit charcoal filtration.[1][2]
Tennessee whiskey beside bourbon
Tennessee whiskey and bourbon share much of their production framework. Under the US federal bourbon standard, the grain mixture must contain at least 51% corn, distillation must not exceed 80% ABV (160 US proof), and the spirit must enter new charred oak containers at no more than 62.5% ABV (125 US proof).[10]
Tennessee’s state definition adds manufacture and ageing within Tennessee, plus maple charcoal filtration, subject to its exemption. For a closer look at the neighbouring tradition, continue with Kentucky bourbon country.[1][10]
Bourbon does not have to come from Kentucky. The federal bourbon standard contains no Kentucky location requirement. The comparison is between a federal whiskey category and Tennessee’s additional rules for its protected names, rather than a contest between two states.[10]
On the label, start with the actual product description rather than relying on a Tennessee address. Distinguish the state’s geographic identity from the production requirements attached to “Tennessee whiskey”: place and protected product name are not interchangeable.[1][2]
Prohibition and the changing distilling map
In 1909, Tennessee’s General Assembly banned alcohol production. Distilleries closed or left the state, according to the Tennessee State Library and Archives. The changing availability of permission to distil would help shape where whiskey could be made.[3]
Disputed: The State Library and Archives says the state ban lasted until 1937, while Jack Daniel’s says production restarted in 1938. These accounts describe different events and do not, on their own, settle the formal end date.[3][8] Even after the ban was lifted, the map remained restricted: the Archives records that distilling was permitted in only three of Tennessee’s 95 counties, Lincoln, Moore and Coffee. In 2009, permission expanded to an additional 41 counties.[3]
| Date | Verified development |
|---|---|
| 1909 | Tennessee banned alcohol production; distilleries closed or left.[3] |
| 2009 | Distilling permission extended to an additional 41 counties.[3] |
| 1 July 2013 | Statutory Tennessee whiskey requirements took effect.[1] |
| 19 June 2017 | The Tennessee Whiskey Trail launched.[5][6] |
The chronology moves from whether distilling was allowed, and where, to how Tennessee whiskey was defined and how visitors could explore it. The 2009 expansion widened the map of permitted locations; the 2013 law defined the product; the 2017 trail created a visitor initiative. These were distinct changes, and the state’s whiskey history reaches beyond its most familiar producers.
Jack Daniel’s places its own history within that longer record. The producer describes itself as the oldest legal whiskey maker, registered since 1866, and identifies its home as Lynchburg in Moore County, a dry county. “Legal” is an essential part of the producer’s claim, and should remain there whenever the claim is repeated.[8]
Story box: Louisa Nelson takes over Green Brier
Founding story: This is a story of succession, rather than establishment. The founding date and first licence are not documented in the supplied record.
Turning point: According to Nelson’s Green Brier’s own account, Charles Nelson died on 13 December 1891, leaving his wife, Louisa, to take over the business.[9]
Key person: Louisa’s succession placed her at the head of Green Brier. The producer’s history describes her as “one of the only women of her time to run a distillery”, a comparison that remains the producer’s wording.[9]
Documented record: The story then reaches the statewide ban: the same producer history records that Green Brier closed when statewide Prohibition was adopted in 1909.[9]
Verdict: Documented, as classified in the supplied fact sheet. The claim is that Louisa Nelson ran Green Brier after Charles Nelson’s death in 1891. The source for this account is the producer’s history; no independent contemporary record was supplied.[9]
Last checked: Exact date not documented.
Exploring Tennessee whiskey country
The Tennessee Distillers Guild brings together distilleries across the state, from international brands to craft producers. It is a membership body, rather than the authority responsible for defining Tennessee whiskey in law.[7]
Its Tennessee Whiskey Trail launched on 19 June 2017. The state tourism department’s announcement described a 25-stop route, with the launch ceremony held at the Little Brick Theatre inside the Factory in Franklin. That figure captures the trail at launch, not the current number of operating distilleries.[5][6]
The trail is a planning resource: use it to organise a journey, then check each intended stop directly. A producer’s own information is the place to confirm the visit you intend to make, rather than assuming that inclusion on a route answers every practical question.[4][5]
Keep visits and drinking separate when arranging transport: anyone driving should not drink. A distillery visit need not include a tasting, and a tasting need not mean finishing a glass.
Where to go next
- Kentucky: Bourbon Country: compare Tennessee’s neighbour and its bourbon tradition.
- Craft Whiskey Across the United States: widen the view beyond Tennessee’s state definition.
- Texas Whiskey: explore another American state’s whiskey identity.
Sources
- Justia, Tennessee Code § 57-2-106, online code text, edition year not specified in the supplied record. https://law.justia.com/codes/tennessee/title-57/chapter-2/section-57-2-106/
- Tennessee Historical Society, Tennessee Whiskey, online article, publication year not specified in the supplied record. https://tennesseehistory.org/tennessee-whiskey/
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Prohibition in Tennessee, Brewing & Distilling, online exhibition, publication year not specified in the supplied record. https://sharetngov.tnsosfiles.com/tsla/exhibits/prohibition/legal.htm
- Tennessee Distillers Guild, Tennessee Whiskey Trail, website, November 2026 sheet snapshot. https://www.tnwhiskeytrail.com/
- Tennessee Distillers Guild, Maps & Downloads, website, November 2026 sheet snapshot. https://www.tnwhiskeytrail.com/maps-downloads/
- Tennessee Department of Tourist Development, Tennessee Distillers Guild Announces Official Launch of the Tennessee Whiskey Trail, 2017. https://press.tnvacation.com/press-releases/tennessee-distillers-guild-announces-official-launch-tennessee-whiskey-trail
- Tennessee Distillers Guild, About Us, website, November 2026 sheet snapshot. https://tndistillersguild.org/about-us/
- Jack Daniel’s, Around The Barrel, Season 1 Episode 1, producer’s account, publication year not specified in the supplied record. https://www.jackdaniels.com/en-gb/podcasts/jack-daniels-around-barrel-season-1-episode-1
- Nelson’s Green Brier Distillery, Our Story, producer’s account, publication year not specified in the supplied record. https://greenbrierdistillery.com/pages/our-story
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations, 27 CFR § 5.143, Whisky, current-text URL supplied with the November 2026 fact sheet. https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-27/chapter-I/subchapter-A/part-5/subpart-I/section-5.143
- AAIAC, The Lincoln County Process and the Law, trade account, publication year not specified in the supplied record. https://www.aaiac.com/the-lincoln-county-process-and-the-law/
This desk-researched draft uses the supplied fact sheet, with producer histories attributed and source-index discrepancies recorded for editorial resolution.
Last checked: November 2026