The Whisky Loch: Why So Many Distilleries Closed in the 1980s

The “whisky loch” was a surplus of unsold, maturing Scotch whisky that accumulated from the late 1970s, after years of expanding production. When demand failed to match that expansion, distillers cut output and closed distilleries, with particularly damaging rounds of closures in 1983 and 1985.[8][9][10]
How the whisky loch filled
The crisis began before the decade most associated with it. Writing in the Oxford Companion to Spirits and Cocktails, Charles MacLean records that the industry’s capacity doubled during the 1960s and continued expanding into the 1970s. Diageo archivist Nicholas Morgan, quoted in Whisky Advocate, likewise identifies overproduction in the 1970s as the background to DCL’s subsequent closures.[8][10]
The loch was therefore not simply a sudden disappearance of customers. It was a mismatch between accumulated stock, production capacity and the amount of whisky that could be sold. Blending houses cut their orders for spirit, leaving distilleries with less work.[8][10]
Trade writer Tom Bruce-Gardyne identifies several pressures on demand: American drinkers turning towards vodka, British drinkers towards wine and a global downturn. He also describes high UK interest rates pushing distillers to sell stock. These were overlapping pressures rather than one explanation that fits every closure.[9]
By November 1982, the problem was being described plainly in Parliament. Lord Tanlaw told the House of Lords that the industry was “grossly over-stocked in maturing spirit, which is far in excess of current and anticipated demand”. He put the world recession first among the causes, with domestic taxation aggravating it.[1]
Cutting production was not enough
Distillers had already begun reducing output before the best-known closures. Bruce-Gardyne reports a 35% fall in production in 1981; in November 1982, Lord Tanlaw said that year’s distillation would be only slightly more than half the amount produced in 1979.[1][9]
Those figures describe production cuts, not equivalent falls in sales. The industry was responding to whisky already in store as well as to weaker expectations for future demand. Lord Ross of Marnock summed up the stockpile in the Lords: “There is distilled whisky galore; it is all there in store. It is maturing.”[1]
DCL also sought to reduce the surplus by supplying whisky for supermarket own label blends. Bruce-Gardyne describes this as a “dam-busters” plan, involving supermarkets in France and Britain.[9]
The closures of 1983
DCL was central to the closures, though it was not the whole industry. Its malt distilleries were operated through Scottish Malt Distillers, usually shortened to SMD.[5]
On 4 March 1983, William Hamilton MP told the Commons that DCL had announced the closure of “11 of its 45 malt distilleries and two of its dark grain plants”. He said the closures would take effect from the end of May and involve another 530 redundancies in small Scottish communities. That announcement should not be read as the individual shutdown date of every affected site.[2]
Some distilleries had already stopped production. In November 1982, Lord Tanlaw said that three of Islay’s eight distilleries were temporarily closed. Port Ellen, on Islay, closed in 1983.[1][6]
The named closures show how widely the contraction reached:
| Distillery | Place | Recorded event |
|---|---|---|
| Glen Albyn and Glen Mhor | Inverness | Both closed in February 1983, according to the Inverness Courier.[11] |
| Dallas Dhu | Forres | Its last barrel was filled on 16 March 1983.[5] |
| Port Ellen | Islay | Closed in 1983, according to Diageo’s account.[6] |
| Brora | Sutherland | Closed in 1983, according to Diageo’s account.[6] |
| St Magdalene | Linlithgow | Closed in 1983; its buildings subsequently became housing.[6] |
| North Port | Brechin | Closed in 1983, according to its trade profile.[12] |
| Glenlochy | Fort William | Closed in 1983 as DCL reduced excess supply.[12] |
| Banff | Not reliably established | Its trade profile records operation until 1983.[12] |
Claim: Port Ellen closed because its whisky was poor.
Verdict: Legend
A trade writer reports that its whisky was judged not to meet DCL blenders’ requirements. Diageo’s account gives no reason for the closure, and no primary record of the decision was opened.[6][10]
These were not interchangeable sites, even within one company. Diageo’s account of Brora says that blending requirements for medium and heavily peated whisky were being met by fewer distilleries. That is a specific explanation about the company’s requirements, not evidence that every closure followed the same calculation.[6]
Nor were closures confined to DCL. Glenugie, at Peterhead, closed for the last time in 1983 under Allied Lyons. The whisky loch was an industry-wide problem, even though DCL’s programme supplies many of its most familiar names.[10][12]
One last barrel at Dallas Dhu
Dallas Dhu gives the wider contraction a precise, physical moment: a final barrel filled on 16 March 1983. Historic Environment Scotland records that the date was marked on the filling store wall and that SMD entrusted the works to state care immediately after closure.[5]
Story box: The last barrel at Dallas Dhu
| Field | Record |
|---|---|
| story_title | The last barrel at Dallas Dhu |
| founding_story | Not documented in the sources supplied for this story. |
| turning_point | Production ended in 1983; the last barrel was filled on 16 March.[5] |
| documented_record | Historic Environment Scotland records the final filling and the immediate entrusting of the works to state care. The distillery was preserved complete with its plant.[5] |
| sources | Historic Environment Scotland, statement of significance, reviewed 2012 |
| claim_source_mapping | Final filling date, wall record, transfer into care and preservation of the plant: Historic Environment Scotland.[5] |
| last_checked | 5 November 2026 |
Verdict: Documented
The second round in 1985
The contraction did not end with 1983. Glenury Royal closed in 1985 and its site was sold to developers. Glenesk ceased distilling that year but continued as a maltings, illustrating why the end of whisky production did not always mean the end of all activity on a site.[12]
Coleburn and Convalmore were mothballed in 1985, according to their trade profiles.[13]
Inverness lost a third distillery when Millburn closed in 1985. Historic Environment Scotland describes it as the last of the city’s three distilleries to operate, following the closures of Glen Albyn and Glen Mhor in February 1983.[11][14]
The employment consequences extended beyond any single closure list. In February 1986, Malcolm Bruce MP told Parliament that industry employment had fallen from over 25,000 at the 1979 peak to about 16,500. These are his reported figures for the wider contraction, not a count of jobs lost at the distilleries named here.[3]
Why the closure totals disagree
Claim: The number of distilleries that closed during the 1980s can be stated as one settled total.
Verdict: Disputed
MacLean gives thirty closures between 1980 and 1985; Bruce-Gardyne gives twenty during the 1980s. In 1986, Bruce described a fall from about 130 distilleries to 100 since 1979. The periods and measures differ, and the totals have not been reconciled.[3][8][9]
Claim: DCL closed eleven malt distilleries in 1983.
Verdict: Disputed
Hamilton reported an announcement of eleven malt closures; the Inverness Courier also refers to a list of eleven. A North Port trade profile gives nine DCL closures. The fact sheet names nine DCL malt closures, while the other two are not reliably established.[2][11][12]
There is also a distinction between facility types in the Commons debate. Hamilton referred to eleven malt distilleries; Harry Ewing referred to eleven bottling and blending plants. The statements do not establish that the same sites were meant.[2]
These statements should remain attributed rather than being combined into a supposedly definitive figure. The disagreement does not alter the documented closure dates above, but it does prevent a confident headline total for the whole episode.
What survived the whisky loch
Closure did not produce one uniform afterlife. North Port was demolished in 1994 for a supermarket; St Magdalene’s buildings became housing; Dallas Dhu’s plant was preserved. Glenesk’s continued use as a maltings was another distinct outcome.[5][6][12]
Brora and Port Ellen eventually returned. In its own account, Diageo records Brora’s reopening on 19 May 2021 and Port Ellen’s return in 2024.[6]
It is also worth keeping later closures separate. Littlemill became silent in 1994, Rosebank was mothballed in 1993 and Imperial closed in 1998. Diageo includes them in its account of lost distilleries, but they are not casualties of the 1983 or 1985 rounds.[6]
Where to go next
- The Pattison Crash of 1898: The Scandal That Shook Scotch Whisky: another crisis in Scotch whisky’s history.
- The Single Malt Revolution: From Blending Stock to Centre Stage: the changing place of single malt whisky.
- Irish Whiskey's Rise, Fall and Revival: a separate history of contraction and recovery.
Sources
[1] UK Parliament, Hansard. The Scotch Whisky Industry. HL Deb, 24 November 1982, vol 436, cc944 to 964.
https://api.parliament.uk/historic-hansard/lords/1982/nov/24/the-scotch-whisky-industry
[2] UK Parliament, Hansard. John Haig (Whisky) Markinch. HC Deb, 4 March 1983, vol 38, cc537 to 544.
https://api.parliament.uk/historic-hansard/commons/1983/mar/04/john-haig-whisky-markinch
[3] UK Parliament, Hansard. Scotch Whisky Industry. HC Deb, 3 February 1986, vol 91, cc120 to 126.
https://api.parliament.uk/historic-hansard/commons/1986/feb/03/scotch-whisky-industry
[5] Historic Environment Scotland. Statement of Significance: Dallas Dhu Distillery. PIC236, last reviewed 2012.
https://app-hes-pubs-prod-neu-01.azurewebsites.net/api/file/5100700e-5ebe-4098-89c3-ab3a00f648fe
[6] Malts.com, Diageo. The Malts Team. The lost whisky distilleries of Scotland and the two who came back. Producer’s account, 4 August 2025.
https://www.malts.com/en/articles/the-lost-whisky-distilleries-of-scotland-and-the-two-who-came-back
[8] Charles MacLean. whisky, scotch. Oxford Companion to Spirits and Cocktails, online entry supplied through Spirits & Distilling, edition date not stated in the fact sheet.
https://www.spiritsanddistilling.com/dictionary/acref-9780199311132-e-1212
[9] Tom Bruce-Gardyne, ScotchWhisky.com. Is a second 'whisky loch' brewing? 19 August 2019.
https://scotchwhisky.com/magazine/features/26340/is-a-second-whisky-loch-brewing/
[10] Ian Buxton, Whisky Advocate. What We Lost in the Whisky Loch. 1 March 2016.
https://www.whiskyadvocate.com/what-we-lost-in-the-whisky-loch/
[11] Inverness Courier. End of an era in 1983 as two Inverness distilleries close. 31 October 2017.
https://inverness-courier.co.uk/news/end-of-an-era-in-1983-as-two-inverness-distilleries-close-138573
[12] ScotchWhisky.com, Whiskypedia. Distillery profiles, publication dates not stated in the fact sheet:
North Port: https://scotchwhisky.com/whiskypedia/2066/north-port/
Glenlochy: https://scotchwhisky.com/whiskypedia/2039/glenlochy/
Banff: https://scotchwhisky.com/whiskypedia/2014/banff/
Glenugie: https://scotchwhisky.com/whiskypedia/2040/glenugie/
Glenury Royal: https://scotchwhisky.com/whiskypedia/2041/glenury-royal/
Glenesk: https://scotchwhisky.com/whiskypedia/2037/glenesk/
[13] ScotchWhisky.com, Whiskypedia. Coleburn and Convalmore. Online profiles, publication dates not stated in the fact sheet.
https://scotchwhisky.com/whiskypedia/2020/coleburn/
https://scotchwhisky.com/whiskypedia/2021/convalmore/
[14] Historic Environment Scotland, Canmore. Inverness, Millburn Road, Millburn Distillery. Record 621393, record date not stated in the fact sheet.
https://canmore.org.uk/collection/621393
This desk-researched article uses the supplied verified fact sheet, distinguishing parliamentary statements, heritage records, scholarly reference entries, trade reporting and the producer’s own account.
Last checked: November 2026